Ember Queen Blog Tour


Welcome to my tour stop for Ember Queen. Over the past few weeks, I have posted reviews of the previous two books, and today, I'm here with the third and final review.

BOOK INFORMATION
Ember Queen (Ash Princess Trilogy #3)
by Laura Sebastia
Publisher: Delacorte Books For Young Readers
Release Date: February 4th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Fiction, High Fantasy, Science Fiction, Magic, Epic Fantasy

Synopsis:
The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.
Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo’s blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers.
Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way.
The Kaiserin’s strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart’s sister.

BOOK LINKS
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | Kobo | Google Books



REVIEW
Sebastian was back at it with another intriguing novel. With never a dull moment, this was one that was difficult to put down.
The characters were the ones we know and love and they learned a lot during this novel. About standing up for your beliefs and being there in the difficult times.
Again, Sebastian explored the themes of right and wrong, evil and good through Theo's leading.
However, I had one disappointment. The romance. This book had essentially no romance -- until the last 75 pages. And then there was a lot within a short amount of time. I feel like the pacing could have been a lot better since the end of the book was obviously the climax.
However, I was disappointed that this was not as clean as the previous books of the series.
So, all that said, I'm glad I took the time to read this series and can't wait to see what Sebastian publishes next.

Rating: 4/5

FAVORITE QUOTES
Stars spill out over the sky like crystals of spilled sugar on black velvet, glittering and plentiful, but there is no moon to be found tonight. I forgot what it is like to be at sea, the steady rock of a ship, the way the air smells of salt and something else unnamable, the way the wind combs through your hair like fingers.

"I mean you're blind -- you aren't dead. You want to help, you want to save your people, then do it. You don't have to lead an army to do that."

She doesn't need to be told twice. As soon as the words are out of my mouth, she's bringing her hands down again, eyes closed tightly and hir writhing wild around her shoulders, tips flashing a blinding blue. When her hands hit the ground, the sound of it rings in my ears so that I can't hear anything else. All I can do is watch as the perfect spiral of water arcs over the iron wall to the center of camp, the tail of it following.

She knows what will happen. She knows the risks. If she's sure of it, I have to be sure of her.

"You always choose Astera, no matter what it costs you. If that doesn't make you a queen, I don't know what does."

“You aren’t useless. You have your mind, you have your determination. You can still probably wield a sword better than half of Cress’s army, I’d bet, depth perception or no. Stay and fight and show her that she didn’t ruin you.”
AUTHOR INFORMATION
Laura Sebastian was born and raised in South Florida (the Redlands and Key Largo) and has always loved telling stories–many apologies to her little brother who often got in trouble because of them. No copies of her first book, a Cinderella retelling about angels circa 2nd grade, remain. Thankfully.
After getting her BFA from Savannah College of Art and Design, she moved to New York City thinking that she would stay for a couple of years before going somewhere better suited for a small-town, sun-loving girl. Five years later, she’s still here and madly in love with it.
When Laura isn’t writing, she’s probably reading, baking cookies or cupcakes, buying more clothes than her overstuffed closet can fit, or forcing her lazy dog Neville to take a walk.
Her debut ASH PRINCESS, the start of a YA fantasy trilogy, will be out April 24th, 2018 from Delacorte (Random House).

AUTHOR LINKS
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

TOUR SCHEDULE

GIVEAWAY
Prize: Win (1) copy of THE EMBER QUEEN by Laura Sebastian (US Only)
Starts: 16th March 2020
Ends: 30th March 2020



No comments:

Powered by Blogger.